Past Initiatives by NAWBO Buffalo Niagara

The first-ever survey of Buffalo-Niagara women business owners was taken by the Niagara Frontier Chapter; results were published in the Report of the Erie County Commission on the Status of Women and by local media in March 1995.

In 1997, the chapter spearheaded construction of Buffalo Habitat for Humanity’s 50th house. “A Woman’s Place” was the first Buffalo-Niagara Habitat house to be built by an all-woman team, and remains a tribute to 300 dedicated female volunteers. Through our efforts, a low-income family — headed by a woman — obtained the home they could not have afforded through conventional means.

In 1998, under the auspices of the Federal Reserve Bank, the National Women’s Council, and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), steering committees were formed to identify solutions that would increase women business owners’ access to capital. The Niagara Frontier Chapter was asked to spearhead the Buffalo/Rochester steering committee, one of only eleven nationwide. Six NAWBO members participated as committee members, in addition to the chair.

Our members have been recognized as Western New York’s entrepreneurial and community leaders with honors such as: SBA Women in Business Advocate of the Year, SBA Small Business Person of the Year for the Buffalo District, Avon Women of Enterprise national winner, Everywoman Opportunity Center Award of Excellence, Girl Scout Women of Distinction Award, and YWCA Leadership Award. NAWBO Buffalo Niagara members have been inducted into the WNY Women’s Hall of Fame and honored as Athena Award nominees; as well as receiving the Working Woman Magazine’s Entrepreneurial Excellence Award. The chapter itself received the SBA District Director’s 2000 Small Business Week Special Recognition Award for nominating — and winning — the highest number of SBA small business awards for the region.

NAWBO Buffalo Niagara Past Presidents

2018 – 2019 Christine Howard

2017 – 2018 Marcia Brogan

2016 – 2017 Lisa Coppola

2015 – 2016 Sabina Ramsey

2014 – 2015 Donna Scalfaro

2013 – 2014 Marilyn Miller

2012 – 2013 Celeste DiStefano

2011 – 2012 Dottie Austin

2010 – 2011 Laurie Albertsson

2009 – 2010 Nicole Fiorella

2008 – 2009 Suzanne Witnauer

2007 – 2008 Jean Powers

2006 – 2007 Carol Condon

2005 – 2006 Katharine Smith

2004 – 2005 Marion Kopin

2003 – 2004 Joyce DeLong

2002 – 2003 Deb Naybor

2001 – 2002 Bonnie Ross

2000 – 2001 Lynn Tranchell

1999 – 2000 Gretchen Stringer

1998 – 1999 Gretchen Stringer

1997 – 1998 Kathryn Jackson

1996 – 1997 Kathryn Jackson

1995 – 1996 Kathy Donoghue

1994 – 1995 Kathy Donoghue